Heavens Like a Curtain

I am a Christian but before I was a Christian, I was a lot of things. For starters I am a Kenyan… You see unlike most of the people I know, if I were to draw my family tree in trying to identify my roots, lets just say the conclusion we come up with is that I am a Kenyan. Like I said unlike most families, the men on both sides of the tree had a thing for women from different tribes. Lets just say the whole, ‘I am this tribe and can only marry from my tribe,’ didn’t go down with them. However, with regards to going to ‘shags’ I have been visiting Kuria in South Nyanza, now Migori county all my life. And so traditional wedding ceremonies would probably follow that train of thought. Then I am married to a pure breed Kamba… you can hardly tell by the way (maybe because he was born and bred in Mombasa). That makes me Kamba by association.

Then there was the whole aspect of the fact that I was a Muslim, so I did grow up with a different culture and borrowed traditions to the many communities that of course are associated with Islam. I have also mentioned that I pretty much lived in this world, you know pursuing worldly pleasures and living up to the cultures set by it. I was my parent’s child and in my day brought up by the community as well… YOU PROBABLY RELATE. No I am not saying your background is similar all I am saying is, before you were a Christian or rather passionate about the things of God; we were living in the world, keen to follow our traditions with regards to our tribe or race. We lived to please others or impress our peers, chased after things that were considered ‘IT’ by the world. We were all about the unholy trinity of ME, MYSELF and I and we can keep going on… Then we were Christians.

After you became a Christian things needed to change to align themselves with the things of God, HE WHO STRETCHED THE HEAVENS LIKE A CURTAIN. I mean I am married to a Christian, have a company that should be run like a Christian, I am subject to the laws of this country and so God expects that I follow them to the latter etc. This is not easy but that’s just the way it is. Plus your being Christian is all about your Loving God and 1 John 5:3 Loving God means keeping his commandments, and his commandments are not burdensome. It’s also good to note that Psalms 111:7- 8 All He does is just and good, and all his commandments are trustworthy. They are forever true, to be obeyed faithfully and with integrity. Then again that note it its beneficial to me not to God.

The Bible has very interesting stories, as in the drama, action, horror even comedy beats anything there is. Well my thoughts… Lets look at a particular story in 2 Kings 17 are told of the story of the resettlement of Assyrians from Babylon, Cuthah, Avva, Hamath and Sepharviam by the King of Assyria replacing the Israelites. They took possession of Samaria and lived in its towns. The Bible says that since they didn’t worship the LORD when they first arrived, He sent lions to live among them and some of them were killed, the people not the lions. So word was sent to the King noting that they claimed the lions came because they did not worship correctly. But we all know why it happened. Anyway, King sends an exiled priest back to Bethel in Samaria to teach them how to worship the Lord. They actually begun to worship the Lord, And though they worshiped the LORD, they continued to follow their own gods according to the religious customs of the nations from which they came. And this is still going on today. They continue to follow their former practices instead of truly worshiping the LORD and obeying the decrees, regulations, instructions, and commands he gave the descendants of Jacob, whose name he changed to Israel.” 2 Kings 17:33-34

chennakesava-temple-curved

How is any of this relevant to what I was saying earlier? Well, forget Israel… I am not an Israelite but I have been saved by Christs amazing grace and so are many of us. I realized that we are pretty much like the Assyrians in the Bible who continued worshiping the gods they had been worshiping before. Just so you know God is not one to share His glory with any other especially idols. Over the last one month reading through the Book of Isaiah I realize how detestable idol worship is to God. This may not sound like as though it applies to you but stop and think with me for a minute. God is not only talking about curved out images of idols but many other things and in our generation are many idols that we may have raised altars to. Like I said SELAH; how many times have you compromised at you work place because you didn’t want to lose your job or needed a promotion? How many times have you paid a bribe to a policeman with the intention of being let go even for what you considered a petty offence? How many times have you chosen to sexually get involved with someone to save your relationship or gotten financial support #Sponsormaneno or not? Business people how many times have you agreed to cut corners, bribe or agree to be a part of a deal that stole from the government or institution because you needed the money?

Our gods come in different shapes and sizes. Sometimes you don’t even realize that you raised altars to other gods so you are walking around calling yourself a true worshiper of the Living God. Which of those things; the devil, relationships with someone or people, money, careers, business’s, fate and destiny etc. which of this gods has ever predicted the future in order that when it happens they may say I told you so? Which of those gods offers you true security? Which of them is your Mighty Warrior strong in battle? You tell me which of those can contend with my God, Jehovah the First and the Last? None can and so the LORD asked me this questions. It’s in the scriptures read for yourself and the answer was none. You like me, may not have realized or known when altars were raised and so I let’s make this our prayer:

Heavenly Father in the Mighty name of Jesus, I raise an altar for you in my life and I ask that you come and reign over every affair in my life. I ask you Oh LORD, You who is Commander of Heavens Army, Mighty Warrior strong in battle, raise your hand and tear down every altar that I have raised in my life that is contrary to the worship of You. Every banner that has been raised against me with or without my knowledge in Jesus name be torn down. Set me free oh LORD from all the things that have held me hostage or captive hindering me from being able to live my life fully for you. Jesus you came that we may have life and have it in abundance and so we ask set us free LORD. Daddy may I live a life for you only, always in Jesus name. Amen.

May begin to raise altars for God everywhere we go, our homes, offices, business premises, children’s’ schools, colleges, estates and roads we travel on every day. Let the our prayers arise and may we invite God to reign over our cities and nations. Only way revival can break out is if we are earnest about God showing up, showing forth and showing forth. Let our colours be clear. God Bless You.

Leave a Reply

